Hmmm….. maybe not that way?!

Standard

I love rice, I really do. Honestly I could eat it everyday, if my family were willing, and still not be sick of it.  It was fantastic while travelling in Asia to indulge and to be one of the majority rather than the minority that I currently am in this household.

So when yet another person told me that they had rice for breakfast I decided it was time for me to scrap the Rice Flake porridge and try the real stuff!  I had thoughts of delicious rice pudding cooked in Rice milk – yes even my milk is rice 😉 – and eagerly ventured into the kitchen.  In went the rice and the milk and on went the pot. Very quickly the pot was a bit on the dry side so in went more milk. Then more milk, then more and yet more again!!  By now you will realise that I am not a ‘Master Chef’ in the making nor will I ever be yet I was determined to have my rice breakfast so I preserved. 😉

I was having my doubts as to ever getting fed when, after nearly 1 litre of rice milk was used and at least 20 mins (I lost track of time by this point in my concern over having enough milk) had passed,  the rice looked like it was beginning to be ready.  Just as culinary skills elude me so does patience on many a day.  Close enough was good enough for this girl, at this point, with 2 hungry kids waiting for breakfast!  Hmmmm….. maybe not the way to cook rice in the mornings?!

It was, I must say, worth waiting for though and I really enjoyed it – the eating part that is 😉 So tomorrow I will try, try again this time with water to start and then add in the yummy milky bits after. I’d love to hear any suggestions from all you breakfast rice eaters out there too.

Hope this finds you happy and healthy, with a bit more culinary nouse than I possess 🙂

Arohanui

Y

www.becominghealthy.co.nz

2 thoughts on “Hmmm….. maybe not that way?!

  1. I read somewhere, depending on the rice, it’s always good to soak it – you can do it with just water, with milk (since you’re cooking in it), yoghurt or water with a little bit of lemon juice. This helps break down the starch, helps it cook faster and also aids digestion. This is particularly good for brown rice… go you on the cooked rice – I can’t do rice pudding…ever… if I do rice in the morning its just straight up rice…. must be the Japanese in me!
    Love your blog

Leave a Reply

