A few more recipes

Standard

So I’m working on a cracker recipe that isn’t working – hmmmm ……… In the mean time though I’ve had a request for the carrot cake recipe out of Ann O’Dowd- Fogerty’s book ‘Eat with Joy’  (which I will post over on the recipe page along with my adaptations in brackets beside) and I thought I would give you my new version of the Bliss Ball recipe since the other one was a hit with a few of you.

This book has some great recipes in it!

This book has some great recipes in it!

Many of my recipes have occurred simply out of a lack of ingredients or my innate desire not to have to clean up too much.  Which is why this modified the bliss ball recipe (which is already on the recipe page) to a nut-free version came about.  If I don’t have something then I just pop in whatever is in my cupboards! In short making the most of whatever I have. 😉 Sometimes the recipe works – Yay! Sometimes they completely flop.

Nut free, GF, DF, Refined Sugar free Bliss Balls

Nut free, GF, DF, Refined Sugar free Bliss Balls

This nut-free bliss ball recipe is one that worked and is now so quick and easy that I use it instead of my original recipe.  Themselves seem to prefer it too as they didn’t really like the coconut ending up all over them – or maybe that was just they didn’t like me nagging at them about the coconut ending up all over everything :).  Anyway here it is ……

Nut-free, GF, DF, Refined Sugar Free Bliss Balls

Makes around 25 small Bliss Balls

  • 1/2 Cup dried dates
  • 1/4 Cup water
  • 1/4 Cup raisins
  • 1/4 Cup sesame seeds
  • 1/4 Cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 Cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 Cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 tablespoon Cacao Nibs
  • 1 tablespoon Cacao Powder

– Blend the water and dates in a pot over a low heat until paste like.  You will need to help break them up as they heat with a wooden spoon.  If you have a better mixer than me, which is highly likely, then you may be able to just blend them with other ingredients.

– Blend the seeds, cacao and coconut until they are all ‘crumbly’

– Add dates and raisins to the seed mixture and blend until it comes together in a ‘ball’. This can also be done in the pot if your blender doesn’t like tough mixtures

– Roll into small balls and store in the fridge.  Then …. Enjoy!!

Hope this finds you making the most of what you have.

Arohanui

Y

www.becominghealthy.co.nz

Leave a Reply

