Next time you’re shopping …

Standard

Now I know that lots of you are following me for the recipes and food posts that I make – which secretly still amazes me 🙂 – so this post may feel a little out of place.  However it is something that I think of every time I go shopping for produce.  It is the little problem of those plastic bags, all rolled up and ready to go, that they provide for us all at the supermarket.

SAM_3124

Making our own produce bags.

While I already have re-usable shopping bags there is still all those little bits of produce that need to be contained within the main bag …. introducing the small plastic bags. I have done my fair share of letting my produce roll around happily and using the plastic bags …. neither of which I was completely satisfied with.   I confess I like order so invariably use the said bags and justify it by re-using them for our dog (think you can work out why)!  However as I have been re-thinking the whole dog collection business the fact that I’m stock piling plastic has become a bit of an issue.  So the other day when I spied a fellow shopper with re-usable produce bags I decided to stop procrastinating and actually do something! I understand that this problem may not apply to other countries or even be an issue however the solution I propose certainly can be adapted by all!

The solution?  Well actually there are two (aren’t you lucky you get to choose) … 1. Buy some re-usable bags  or 2. Make some!  My first choice was to make some as I’m into crafting and I like the idea of the my children seeing that there were alternatives to using plastic or buying something all the time.  After a bit of experimenting with crochet bags I decided that a simple knotted cotton bag  was the winner; for lightness, for child participation and actual time taken.  I used the idea from Scissors and Steam however I just used some 100% cotton twine, so that it is biodegradable, and knotted them – easy!

20160612_130754

Proudly displaying her handmade bag.

While making the bag was fun, it was a lengthy process so I’m thinking that making a larger one and then buying a pack of smaller mesh style bags for grapes etc is going to be my middle ground.  My fellow shopper had actually got his bags in the market in Nelson however I found the site Rethink NZ which has 100% unbleached organic bags (he postage is a bit of a killer, almost the same as the bags, though so maybe check out if they have a stockist near you ).  There is also another company Onya which have 5 small mesh produce bags tucked up in a handy carry case which I can personally vouch for Onya after getting some in a local shop and revelling in plastic free produce collection today 🙂

Hope this finds you happy, healthy and full of ideas.

Arohanui

Y

www.becominghealthy.co.nz

 

Leave a Reply

